WTC final to be played at The Oval from June 7 to 11

February 08, 2023

The second World Test Championship (WTC) final will be played at The Oval in London from June 7 to 11. The ICC, while confirming the dates, said that there will be a reserve day for the final, on June 12.

The dates place the WTC final between the IPL final, which is expected to take place on May 28, and the Ashes, which starts on June 16 in Birmingham.

There are three series to go in this WTC cycle, with India hosting Australia for the four-Test Border-Gavaskar Trophy, New Zealand hosting Sri Lanka for two Tests, and South Africa hosting West Indies for two Tests. No finalist is confirmed yet, with Australia, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa the only teams in contention.

As things stand, Australia are in a prime position to be one of the teams contesting the WTC final - if they draw just one of their four Tests against India, and don't drop any penalty points due to poor over rates, they will seal their place in the final. Anything less than that, and Australia would be dependent on other results.

For the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to be a confirmed dress rehearsal for the final, India have to beat Australia 3-1 or better. Again, anything less than that and India would depend on other results going their way.

Even if Sri Lanka and South Africa sweep their respective Test series, they would still be dependent on others' results.

Click here for the complete scenarios on who needs to do what to make the WTC final.

In September last year, the ICC had announced The Oval and Lord's respectively as the venues for the next two WTC finals - this year's and for the third cycle that ends in 2025.

New Zealand had won the inaugural WTC final, in June 2021, beating India by eight wickets in Southampton. That match had gone into the reserve day, with rain having washed out the first and fourth days entirely. New Zealand had put India in and bowled them out cheaply twice on the back of a clinical showing from their four-pronged pace attack - Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner and Kyle Jamieson - before the experienced duo of Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson took them home in a chase of 139.

WTC fixtures remaining in the 2021-23 cycle

  • Ind vs Aus, Nagpur, Feb 9-13

  • Ind vs Aus, Delhi, Feb 17-21

  • Ind vs Aus, Dharamsala, Mar 1-5

  • Ind vs Aus, Ahmedabad, Mar 9-13

  • SA vs WI, Centurion, Feb 28-Mar 4

  • SA vs WI, Johannesburg, Mar 8-12

  • NZ vs SL, Christchurch, Mar 9-13

  • NZ vs SL, Wellington, Mar 17-21

Disclaimer: This news is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Cricday. Source Link