India's record streak of nine consecutive series wins

India v Sri Lanka, 3rd Test, Delhi, 5th day December 06, 2017

Record streak of series wins

India's 1-0 series win against Sri Lanka is their ninth successive Test series win. They have now matched Australia's streak of nine consecutive series wins from 2005-06 to 2008. India's winning streak began with the 2015 tour of Sri Lanka. India's win-loss ratio in this period is 10.500, while no other team has a ratio of more than two in this period.

In this sequence of nine series, India have won six at home and three away. Australia also had six home and three away series wins in their record. India have played 30 Tests in these nine series, winning 21 and losing two, with seven draws. Australia had played 26 matches, and won 22. Virat Kohli has been India's most successful batsman with 2707 runs and R Ashwin the most successful bowler with 180 wickets. For Australia, it was Ricky Ponting (2790 runs) and Brett Lee (130 wickets) respectively.

Comparison of Australia and India's nine consecutive series wins
Team Home series Away series Total matches Won Lost Draw
 Australia  6  3  26  22  1  3
 India  6  3  30  21  2  7

Dhananjaya's record-breaking fightback

Dhananjaya de Silva staved off India's efforts to win the Delhi Test with a score of 119 before retiring hurt. His innings is the highest fourth-innings score by a visiting batsman in India. The previous record was held by Viv Richards, who struck an unbeaten 109, also at Feroz Shah Kotla, in 1987-88. Incidentally, this is only the fourth century for a visiting batsman when chasing in India. The previous instance was Younis Khan at Eden Gardens in 2007-08.

Dhananjaya is the first Sri Lanka batsman in the last 10 years to score a fourth-innings hundred in an away Test. The last was Kumar Sangakkara who hit 192 at Hobart in November 2007.

Disclaimer: This news is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Cricday. Source Link